NCI/DCCPS R21 Program Announcements

The funding opportunity announcements (FOAs) on this site provide the option for R21 applications. R21 grants support the promotion of early and developmental stages of research efforts on novel scientific ideas that have the potential to substantially advance cancer research in all areas relevant to the mission of NCI. Applications submitted under this mechanism should break new ground or extend previous discoveries toward new directions or applications.

  • The combined budget for direct costs for the 2-year project period may not exceed $275,000
  • No more than $200,000 may be requested in any single year.
  • Applicants may request direct costs in $25,000 modules, up to the total direct costs limitation of $275,000 for the combined 2-year award period (unless otherwise specified in the FOA).

Behavioral Research

(Active R21 Grants in Behavioral Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Nutrition and Alcohol-Related Health Outcomes (R21) PA-13-361 May 8, 2017 Rosalind Breslow
301-594-6231
rbreslow@mail.nih.gov
Exploratory Studies of Smoking Cessation Interventions for People with Schizophrenia (R21/R33) PAR-14-230 April 18, 2017 Yvonne Hunt
240-276-6975
huntym@mail.nih.gov
Developing Interventions for Health-Enhancing Physical Activity (R21/R33) PAR-14-321 September 8, 2017 Frank Perna
240-276-6782
pernafm@mail.nih.gov
Systems Science and Health in the Behavioral and Social Sciences (R21) PAR-15-047 January 8, 2018 Elizabeth Ginexi
240-276-6765
lginexi@mail.nih.gov
Advancing Interventions to Improve Medication Adherence (R21)  PA-14-335 January 8, 2018 Wendy Nelson
240-276-6971
Nelsonw@mail.nih.gov
Exploratory/Developmental Clinical Research Grants in Obesity (R21) PA-15-163 May 8, 2018 Tanya Agurs-Collins
240-276-6956
collinsta@mail.nih.gov
Education and Health: New Frontiers (R21) PAR-16-078 January 8, 2019 Todd Horowitz
240-276-6963
todd.horowitz@nih.gov
Predicting Behavioral Responses to Population-Level Cancer Control Strategies (R21) PAR-16-257 April 12, 2019 Rebecca A. Ferrar
301-852-1167
rebecca.ferrer@nih.gov
Leveraging Cognitive Neuroscience to Improve Assessment of Cancer Treatment-Related Cognitive Impairment (R21) PAR-16-213 April 12, 2019 Jerry Suls
240-276-6811
jerry.suls@nih.gov
Population Health Interventions: Integrating Individual and Group Level Evidence (R21) PA-16-147 May 8, 2019 David Berrigan
240-276-6752
berrigad@mail.nih.gov
Stimulating Innovations in Behavioral Intervention Research for Cancer Prevention and Control (R21) PAR-16-278 May 8, 2019 Tanya Agurs-Collins
240-276-6956
collinsta@mail.nih.gov
Innovative Approaches to Studying Cancer Communication in the New Media Environment (R21) PAR-16-248 June 14, 2019 Kelly Blake
240-281-5934
kelly.blake@nih.gov
Improving Smoking Cessation in Socioeconomically Disadvantaged Populations via Scalable Interventions (R21) PAR-16-201 June 14, 2019 Yvonne Hunt
240-276-6975
huntym@mail.nih.gov
Cancer-Related Behavioral Research through Integrating Existing Data (R21) PAR-16-255 June 15, 2019 Richard Moser
240-276-6915
moserr@mail.nih.gov
Integrative Research on Polysubstance Abuse and Addiction (R21/R33) PAR-16-291 September 8, 2019 Glen Morgan
240-276-6787
gmorgan@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Survivorship

(Active R21 Grants in Survivorship Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Physical Activity and Weight Control Interventions Among Cancer Survivors: Effects on Biomarkers of Prognosis and Survival (R21) PAR-16-123 September 8, 2018 Frank Perna
240-276-6782
pernafm@mail.nih.gov
Examination of Survivorship Care Planning Efficacy and Impact (R21) PA-16-011 January 8, 2019 Stephen Taplin
240-276-6947
taplins@mail.nih.gov

Epidemiology and Genomics Research

(Active R21 Grants in Epidemiology and Genomics Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Ethical, Legal, and Social Implications (ELSI) of Genomic Research Exploratory/Developmental Research Program (R21) PA-14-278 September 8, 2017 Charlisse Caga-anan
240-276-6738
charlisse.caga-anan@nih.gov
Early-life Factors and Cancer Development Later in Life (R21) PA-15-125 January 8, 2018  Somdat Mahabir
240-276-6941
Mahabir@mail.nih.gov
Development of Innovative Informatics Methods and Algorithms for Cancer Research and Management (R21) PAR-15-334 June 15, 2018 Juli Klemm
301-480-5778
klemmj@mail.nih.gov
Innovative Basic Research on Adducts in Cancer Risk Identification and Prevention (R21) PAR-15-309 July 12, 2018 Gabriel Lai
240-276-7201
laigy@mail.nih.gov
Diet and Physical Activity Assessment Methodology (R21) PAR-15-171 September 8, 2018  Amy Subar
240-276-6695
subara@mail.nih.gov
Improving Outcomes in Cancer Treatment-Related Cardiotoxicity (R21) PA-16-036 January 8, 2019 Nonniekaye Shelburne
240-276-6897
nshelburne@mail.nih.gov
Exploratory Grants in Cancer Epidemiology and Genomics Research (R21) PA-16-175 May 8, 2019 Mukesh, Verma
240-276-6889
vermam@mail.nih.gov

Healthcare Delivery Research

(Active R21 Grants in Healthcare Delivery Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
End-of-Life and Palliative Needs of Adolescents and Young Adults (AYA) with Serious Illnesses (R21) PA-15-325 January 8, 2019  Ashley Wilder Smith
240-276-6714
smithas@mail.nih.gov
Intervening with Cancer Caregivers to Improve Patient Health Outcomes and Optimize Health Care Utilization (R21) PAR-16-318 April 12, 2019 Erin Kent
240-276-6776
erin.kent@nih.gov
Exploratory/Developmental Surgical Disparities Research (R21) PAR-16-392 June 8, 2019 Brenda Adjei
240-276-6185
adjeiba@mail.nih.gov
Linking the Provider Recommendation to Adolescent HPV Vaccine Uptake (R21) PAR-16-336 July 17, 2019 Sarah Kobrin
240-276-6931
kobrins@mail.nih.gov
Research Infrastructure Development for Interdisciplinary Aging Studies (R21/R33) PAR-16-367 September 8, 2019 Erica Breslau
240-276-6773
breslaue@mail.nih.gov
Methodology and Measurement in the Behavioral and Social Sciences (R21) PAR-16-261 September 8, 2019 Sandra Mitchell
240-276-6929
mitchellsa@cc.nih.gov

Health Disparities Research

(Active R21 Grants in Health Disparities Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Exploratory/Developmental Grants Program for Basic Cancer Research in Cancer Health Disparities (R21) PAR-15-092 November 18, 2017 Elizabeth Woodhouse
240-276-6205
woodhousee@mail.nih.gov

Implementation Science

(Active R21 Grants in Implementation Science)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health (R21)   PAR-16-236 May 8, 2019 David Chambers
240-276-5090
dchamber@mail.nih.gov

Surveillance Research

(Active R21 Grants in Surveillance Research)

Title Announcement End date Contact
Spatial Uncertainty: Data, Modeling, and Communication (R21) PA-15-009 January 8, 2018  Li Zhu (DCCPS)
240-276-6851
Zhul2@mail.nih.gov